follow the fashion

home sweet home

Posted in Brisbane Designers, Inspiration by brisbane on July 12, 2011

A lot of people that live in Brisbane tend to think it’s not a great place to live and that there isn’t much on offer. But I don’t think that’s true. I’ve just returned home after travelling to London, Mykonos, LA and Las Vegas (and I’ve been to many other cities previously) and I couldn’t be happier to be home. Whilst I loved many of the places I visited, each place only offered one or two things that I think are important to making somewhere a great place to live, whereas Brisbane truly offers a bit of everything, the things that are really important (well to me anyway).

A good selection of restaurants, bars, shops, markets, nightlife, galleries (we do have them here, you just have to know where to look), nice weather (where it’s not too cold in winter and not too hot in summer), close proximity to some of the best places in the world (beaches, rainforests, cities etc), a relaxed lifestyle (where it’s not a day to day struggle to do simple things), space (we are really spoilt and should cherish it more), choices (where we aren’t restricted to too few or too many options – yeah we don’t have a Zara on every corner but is that really a bad thing – we don’t want to all dress the same do we? But we have so many choices for crucial things, like coffee!), a unique culture (where we have our own style that isn’t mass produced), and we have freedom (the most important thing).

We really have it good here everyone, and we can make it an even better place by embracing it. Let me know what you love about Brisbane? 

I hope these images inspire you …

Local designer Miss Unkon

Winter sky in Brisbane

Locally owned store Garnsis @ Elizabeth Arcade

Bessie Head, Broadway on the Mall – one of the all time favourites

Saw this on The Loft’s blog – how sweet

The Bunker Boutique – just opened on George Street

Local designer Soot

It may not be ‘fashion’ but how cool does Organic Char @ Eagle Street look. It just opened in June

 

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. jazziefizzle said, on July 12, 2011 at 6:50 am

    Moving to the gold coast (for uni) makes me appreciate Brisbane even more than ever! The art galleries, cool cafes, awesome spots to eat, picnic, drink coffee. As much as we complain about the nightlife, the cocktail bar scene really has lifted in the past few years!

    Oh and the shopping! So many fabulous little boutiques and quirky markets – if only I could afford to shop on my student budget!

    Good to see some Brissy love in the blogosphere!

  2. keepmymemory said, on July 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm

    I have been living in Europe for a year and a half now, and only after reading this did it make me realise how much I miss Brisbane… I only went there for uni, but because of that I was there everyday. I love Brisbane..

  3. Home Of Pashmina (@homeofpashmina) said, on August 23, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    You are waiting for Spring in Southern hemisphere and where we can’t get enough of summer here in USA. Although like you I am also waiting for season to change so we see some activity in Cashmere Fashion. I have a Cashmere Fashion business and we are coming up with some unique designs of Embroidery on Cashmere scarves. I liked one of your pictures where a model is sitting close to a black and white scarf, may be I will use it as inspiration for my next photo shoots.

    Have fun in spring

    Ann C
    Home Of Pashmina


Leave a Reply

